so it has been a little while since i posted…

and i just want to say, it hasn’t been because i had nothing happening in my life worth writing about. in fact, it’s been just the opposite and i really just haven’t had the time to pen anything. besides that, so much has happened that i don’t even know where to begin. i guess i’ll just dive in!

for starters, I GOT THE JOB! i had posted about being offered a job within the state government and i interviewed for it, had my fluency in spanish tested and passed with flying colors. shit, if i had failed that exam, there would have been something seriously wrong seeing as i have been speaking spanish longer than i’ve been speaking english! i’m sad to leave my current job because i had truly grown to love it here. i’ve worked for Sabrett for the last year and a half. if you’re from New York, or been here on vacation, you know Sabrett. they are only on about every street corner in Manhattan and sold in every Papaya Dog or Grey’s Papaya in the city. they’re the #1 hot dog, and that’s not being said because i worked here, they really truly are the best god damned hot dogs ever made. but more than working for such a NYC staple, i really loved my position as Office Manager here. i loved the plant workers and they loved me. never failed to bring me gifts from their home countries whenever they came back from vacation. they even threw me a birthday party back in March and i hadn’t even made a year here when they did that for me. as the news has spread throughout the plant of my impending departure, people have come to me with tears in their eyes, asking me to please not leave. i explain to them the job offer and the pay increase and they certainly understand why i made my decision to leave but they are none the happier about it. i loved my bosses. sure bosses can be a bit much at times but we had a really good repore. my boss G.P. was the one who went to bat for me, getting me my retainer and my other boss P.V. found me the lawyer. if it weren’t for this company, the outcome of my recent custody/child support battle, would not have worked out as favorably for me. i will be forever grateful to this company for what they did for me and i will never forget my time here as it truly was one of the best jobs i’ve ever had. i’m sad, truly sad to leave, but i’m sure i’ll be able to dry my tears with the ten thousand more dollars i’ll be making a year!!!!

then there was my brother, coming to New York for the first time in years. he and i had a not so great relationship growing up and i dreaded his arrival. i’m sorry to say that but i truly did. i thought i would encounter the same person i knew growing up but he was so different this time around and he needed me so much that i feel like i finally have the brother i never had before. he was going through a personal struggle, having recently been diagnosed with bi-polar disorder and he was battling such a mixed array of emotions, from loss of his home and family in Florida, to unease about what the future held for him, to missing the bejeezus out of his baby son down there. his outlook on life was far from positive and i would sit with him and tell him how easy it could be to change his frequency if only he put a miniscule amount of effort into it, the universe would respond. as he listened to my advice, he likened it to scriptures and compared my current outlook on how Christ led his life. a compliment to say the least but still, it showed he was really listening. i told him he had the power to acquire anything and everything he desired if only he learned to focus his thoughts on the prize and trust that he would reach it. while here, he and his girlfriend (and hopefully future wife) reconciled and he came to me saying he really wanted to go home. he didn’t have any money for a ticket and asked if i’d help him get back home. i did. i bought him his ticket and helped him get to the bus stop and sent him back home smiling. he came here defeated and left ready for victory and i can’t say it was all my doing but i will ackowledge my influence a tad and thank the universe for allowing me the ability to help my brother when he needed me most. i fought back tears as i loaded him onto the bus and hugged him tightly. i apologized for dreading his arrival and told him how grateful i was to have had the chance to breath new life into our relationship. i thanked him for being my brother and he thanked me for being his sister and where we once thought we had no sibling, now we both know that we do!

court! this truly deserves its own entry but i just don’t have the energy to go all the way back to when this started and recount how things went down. besides, there is a lot of anger and frustration involved in the retelling of this story and i don’t want to dwell on those types of emotions. what i will say is this, I WON!!! i am the sole legal custodian of my most precious daughter and he now has to pay child support and ask my permission to do anything with her. i never denied him his daughter before and i certainly will not start doing so now but it does feel good to have all the power. i make all of the decisions regarding her welfare and he takes the back seat. in a perfect world, our relationship would have been stellar and we’d be raising her together but this is not a perfect world. as her mother, i must ensure her happiness and more than that, i must ensure she gets all the things she needs in life. his inability to assist me in her financial needs before was troubling as all things were left for me to handle. usually that meant i spent everything i had on her and nothing on me. i lacked simple things like bras, new sneakers when the ones i was wearing wore down, and pretty much all of my personal basics. my daughter always came first, even if that meant i couldn’t eat lunch or had to hop the train to get to work. i did what i had to do because she didn’t ask to come here, i wanted her. now, he has no choice in the matter and my lawyer definitely crucified him in court. i’m not an evil person though, and i don’t rejoice in his failure. i ceded on some things to favor him because i wanted him to see that my aim was never to keep him from her, but to simply make sure he took good care of her when he had her. after going through this ordeal, he has become a better father. he truly does love our little girl and i’m glad that he finally understands how important it is for him to be there for her. he and i actually get along now, which is truly all i ever wanted. here’s the funny part, now he wants me back! i find it funny because he has no chance in hell. after all he put me through i’d be a fool to take him back. i’d also be extremely embarrassed. people would think i was crazy and i would certainly be certifiable if i did take him back. besides, i’m in love.

the man i’m in love with is the most amazing person i have ever been with in my entire life. he embodies everything i ever wanted in a man. he is kind, loving, tender, generous. he is a provider, a confidant, a listener. he is intelligent, literate, verbose. he is handsome and tall and well….let’s just make this really simple:

HE IS THE BEST MAN I HAVE EVER HAD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

i love him so much. more than i have ever loved any man before. he is my second most favorite person, and he is only second because my daughter is my most favorite person alive. i ask myself how i could be so lucky but i don’t have an answer to that question. all i know is that i love him and i know with all of my heart that he loves me. he does everything to show it and even calls my daughter his daughter, without ever having met her yet. he wants to win her heart and that takes time, but i know he is fully capable of doing so because my heart was not an easy win but he has it completely. 436

so yeah, a lot has happened since my last post and there is a lot that will be happening in this coming year. i’ve been saying for months now how 2013 was going to be my year!!! it is certainly shaping up to be so and it hasn’t even started yet. before i close this post, i would like to express my gratitude.

Thank You Heavenly Creator, mover of mountains, parter of seas! Thank You Lord of the Universe, Thank You for all of Your Blessings. I am so grateful! Thank You for deeming me worthy of Your many countless Blessings. You have removed enemies from my circles. You have blessed me with honest and good friends. You have rebuilt relationships within my family. You have rained Your Blessings on everyone I know and love. You have reminded me of the Beauty contained in this Wonderful Life and I see it now where once I only saw darkness. You have opened doors for me when I needed them! You have provided for all of my needs, wants and desires. You, Creator of the Heavens and the Earth and all things Herein, are Forever Merciful and Caring. Thank You Father God, I will forever be grateful! AMEN! ASE!

2 responses to “so it has been a little while since i posted…

  1. Mitch, I was in tears by the time I finish reading your blog. You have evolved so much since I have known you from your senior year in college to a beautiful hard working mother today. I’m looking forward to your future success, happiness and love! 🙂

Leave a Reply

